Price of coal

143rd PA

Does anyone know if the price of coal has gone up dramaticly like other heating fuels? I have a wood/coal frunace that I haven't used in several years and was contemplating using coal to heat with next winter. I used to buy coal from Rounds in Vestal but they are gone now. Where else in the triple cities can I buy coal?

Guest guest

I've been heating my home with coal for the last 8 years. when I started it was 140./ ton. This year it's 200./ton, so yes it has gone up, mainly because of high fuel prices. (like everything else). Still, I only go through 2-3 tons a winter to heat my entire house (2500 sq/ft) and it is toasty warm all winter. Thats $400. - $600. for the entire winter...what are you paying now? Mine is a stoker type stove that burns rice coal. I get mine (delivered) from Hollenbeck's in Catatonk (near Owego). Your wood/coal combo would need the bigger lump coal...not sure where to get that anymore. Do yourself a favor and get a stoker stove. I'll never go back to wood, even though I own plenty of my own woods. You'll never have a chimney fire with coal....think about that. You don't even need a chimney if you don't have one, they can be vented through an outside wall. Mine is an Alaska Stoker Stove, the 75,000 BTU model. Warner Stoves make good ones also, there are others. Wood pellet stoves are similar. Wood pellets are around 200./ton also. I happen to prefer coal, it's always available, never goes bad, burns wet or dry, and the ashes are great for the driveway when it's snowy/icy.

As for lump coal, Rounds is now located in Greene...give them a call. They might still carry lump coal, or know who does.

Hope this helps. ;)

Guest Guest