How do I handle a crappy landlord

Guest guest25

Guest guest25

I've been renting from the same guy for quite a few years now.... I live in a very nice neighborhood, and my neighbors are awesome....

the problem is my landlord doensn't follow through when he says he's going to. it takes forever to get anything done and even then it's half a$$ed.

I have nothing on paper with him, never signed a lease or anything but i pay a pretty price for what I live in and I don't feel i'm getting my money's worth.

Should I hold next months rent until he fixes what i was promised properly?

can i even do that?

I think you should have never rented from Saul Associates.

You can absolutely withhold next month's rent, but don't be surprised if you receive a "30-day notice" for eviction.

Guest guest25
I think you should have never rented from Saul Associates.

You can absolutely withhold next month's rent, but don't be surprised if you receive a "30-day notice" for eviction.

I don't know who Saul is but i'll remember that next time....

so I'll probably get evicted... can i even fight this in court if necessarry?

Guest Benni Booboo

DON'T WITHHOLD YOUR RENT, unless you are sure you want to, and are prepared to, move. You do not have the legal right to withhold your rent, if you do, he has the legal right to evict you. Your choices, call code enforcement (only if there are repairs to be cited), seek legal guidance and procede from there or move.

Guest Guest