Beer Tree staffing issues? Employees quit over compensation & fired for speaking up

guest11

Beer Tree has some major issues.  My family was in business in Broome County for decades, we always took care of our employees.  If Beer Tree continues conducting business like this, they won't be around much longer.

https://www.binghamtonhomepage.com/news/top-stories/beer-tree-staffing-crisis/

-------------

!!COMMUNITY ACTION ALERT!!

My now FORMER place of employment, Downtown by Beer Tree Brew, posted this yesterday. It seems like just another "Day Off For Remodel" kind of thing, but it's not. There is a much worse reality to it!

The Kitchen, where I was a Prep/Line Cook/Baker is so terribly understaffed that they cant seem to keep the doors open like they were just a week or two ago. And you may be wondering why. Well, here's the reason:

A little over a month ago, it was told to the servers at a company meeting that they were covering the 3% service fee the credit card processor company charges on tips. This means they would be covering the cost of a service fee that they did not have any say in the contract agreement of. Now, is this illegal? No. In NY it is legal for employers to do this. But is it ethical? Is it necessary? Should it be the servers job to cover the cost of the businesses bottom line? Myself, and other employees, didn't think so.